Invited Talks

Invited Talks

Prof. Renato Renner

Renato Renner is Professor for Theoretical Physics and head of the research group for Quantum Information Theory at ETH Zurich.

He studied physics, first at EPF Lausanne and later at ETH Zurich, where he graduated in theoretical physics. He then moved to the Computer Science Department to work on a thesis in the area of quantum cryptography. After getting his PhD degree, he spent two years in the UK, where he was a HP research fellow in the Department for Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics at the University of Cambridge. In 2007 he started as an Assistant Professor at ETH Zurich. He was promoted in 2012 to an Associate Professor and in 2015 to a Full Professor. His research interests are in the area of Quantum Information Science, Quantum Thermodynamics, and the Foundations of Quantum Physics.


Prof. Glynn Winskel

Glynn Winskel is professor at University of Cambridge Computer Laboratory and Turing Fellow at The Alan Turing Institute. He was awarded an Advanced Grant by the European Research Council 'Events, Causality and Symmetry---the next generation semantics' in 2011. Also, he is a member of the Academia Europaea.

He is probably best known for his work generalising the methodology of domain theory and denotational semantics to concurrent computation, and as the main developer of event structures.
He sees his research as developing the mathematics with which to understand and analyze computation, its nature, power and limitations. Computation today is highly distributed and interactive, often probabilistic, and sometimes based in quantum theory or biology. Traditional models fall short: they are either too low level (as with 'Turing machines') or have abstracted too early from operational and quantitative concerns (the case with domain theory, the classical foundation of denotational semantics). His distributed games arguably provide the most versatile foundation for denotational semantics we have.

Website (cam) Website (turing)

Important dates:

Abstract submission:
February 11, 2019 (extended)

Submission deadline:
February 18, 2019 (extended)

Notification to authors:
April 1, 2019

Final version:
April 15, 2019

June 24 - June 25, 2019


Mathias Soeken
EPFL, Switzerland

Michael Kirkedal Thomsen
University of Copenhagen, Denmark